Term Dates & School Day

What time do they start each day?

Please note that no parents are allowed onto the school yard before the school day begins. Staff are on duty to ensure the health and safety of all children after they have been dropped off/handed over at the school gates.

Early Years/Reception Key Stage 1(Years 1 and 2) Key Stage 2(Years 3,4,5 & 6)
Morning (Gate Opens 8:45am)

8:50am – 11:45am

(Children line up in the main yard)

8:50am – 12:00noon

(Children line up in the main yard)

8:50am – 12:00noon

Break As and when required—free flow 11:00am – 11:15am 11:00am – 11:15am
Lunch 11:45am – 1:00pm 12 noon – 1:00pm 12 noon – 1:00pm
Afternoon (Gate Opens at 3:05am)

1:00pm – 3:05pm

1:00pm – 3:05pm

(Children to exit from the main school yard)

1:00pm – 3:10pm

 

Term Dates

CLOSE AT 3.00PM SCHOOL RE-OPENS HOLIDAY TEACHER DAYS
Friday 20 October 2017 Monday 30 October 2017 Autumn Half Term
Thursday 21 December 2017 Monday 8 January 2018 Christmas Holidays Friday 22 December 2017
Friday 9 February 2018 Monday 19 February 2018 Spring Half Term
Thursday 29 March 2018 Monday 16 April 2018 Easter Holidays
Friday 4 May 2018 Tuesday 8 May 2018 May Day
Thursday 24 May 2018 Monday 4 June 2018 Summer Half Term Friday 25 May 2018 (occasional Day which may be subject to change)
Friday 20 July 2018 TBA

Leave of Absence/Holiday Absence (Our Attendance Policy can be found here)

Time off school for family holidays cannot be authorised. Schools have the discretion, in exceptional circumstances to authorise leave absence:

  • For service personnel and other employees who are prevented from taking holidays outside term-time if the holiday will have minimal disruption to the pupil’s education;
  • When a family needs to spend time together to support each other during or after a crisis.

Applications for Leave of Absence where dates can be known ahead, MUST be made at least 2 weeks in advance of the requested date.

Consideration is given to each request before a decision is reached on behalf of the Governing Body (Education (Pupil Registration) (England) Regulations 2006). Each case will be judged on its merits in line with the criteria outlined above. The decision is final and once the decision to not authorise the leave is taken, it cannot be authorised retrospectively.

If the absence is not authorised and the holiday is taken anyway, the case may be referred to the Attendance Service who will issue a Penalty Notice for £120 (or £60 if paid within 28 days) to each parent for each child taken out of school.

Penalty Notice Proceedings for Unauthorised Holiday Absence

  • Penalty Notices are issued in accordance with the Attendance Service Code of Conduct.
  • The Attendance Service is notified that a request for a term time holiday is not authorised
  • The Attendance Service issue Penalty Notice(s) (one per parent per child)
  • If Penalty Notice(s) is/are not paid within 28 days of issue, the Attendance Service may instigate court proceedings